Waves Fear and Fun

This Holiday July 2015 was the first time I remember Stephen my 3rd son going into the big waves with me.

We always put our feet in on the shore and sang ‘we not afraid, we not afraid you just a big wave and we not afraid’ easy to say when you feet are anchored on the shore.

But this time , he grabbed my hand and said dad take me in. In we walked hand in hand to shore breaks breaking over his head and depths where his feet could not touch the sand below.

The first time he was nervous, but realized it was fun. “Can you take me again dad” . We ran this time into the waves. “Jump!” I shouted and lifted him over the top of the crashing shore break. On the other side he asked “Dad how do I dive under?”. “Just like you dive in a pool!” I said.  And so he tried and oh what fun!

In an instant he had moved from Fear to Fun. His only security was holding his dads hand.

I Thought to myself. What a lesson!

Life in this world is not for sissies. You will have troubles of many kinds. But we have an ever present Father there to hold our hands and wade out into the depths with us. He will carry us over the waves, teach us to dive into our fears and find freedom and fun in the very world that scares us.

And just when you think you let go of His hand, you find he’ll never let go of you. He may even carry you in His arms of Love or on His Shoulders.

303508_129331190496785_5724944_n

leisure bay 113

A Song came to mind:

Oh what I would do to have
The kind of faith it takes to climb out of this boat I’m in
Onto the crashing waves

To step out of my comfort zone
To the realm of the unknown where Jesus is
And He’s holding out his hand

But the waves are calling out my name and they laugh at me
Reminding me of all the times I’ve tried before and failed
The waves they keep on telling me
Time and time again, “Boy, you’ll never win!”
“You’ll never win”

But the voice of truth tells me a different story
And the voice of truth says, “Do not be afraid!”
And the voice of truth says, “This is for My glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

– Casting Crowns Voice of truth

About neilshopecorner

I am Alex Neil Munro. My claim to fame is I am married to Coralie Munro. I have 4 boys & a landrover. (Clearly i’m not good at big decisions) My favourite scripture is 1 Corinthians 1:26 – 29 can’t quote it all but says something about God choosing to use the foolish to shame the Wise.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

